Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Awards Night 2015


​For the 52nd Annual Presentation of Awards ceremony held in the Memorial Hall Home Hill on Tuesday 27 October, a large crowd of almost 450 parents, families, staff, students and invited guests from the Home Hill State High School community proudly celebrated the achievements of the student body. Over 170 awards were presented to acknowledge the numerous and extensive accomplishments of students in academic, vocational, cultural, leadership, community service and sporting fields.

The occasion was dignified with presence of invited guests including Mr George Christensen, Federal member for Dawson, Mr Bill Lowis, Burdekin Shire Mayor, Rotary Club of Home Hill President, Mr David Jackson, Mr Sam Harris, Lions Club of Home Hill representative, Mr Steve Postma from Wilmar Sugar Australia, Mr David Hunter, representing the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy,  Mrs Karen McKaig, Home Hill Bendigo Bank Manager, Ms Jan Hollingsworth representing the Zonta Club of Burdekin Inc. and Mrs Brenda Sloan representing TAFE North. Also attending were Mrs Lydia Toohey from Toastmasters, Parents & Citizens Association President, Mr Richard Wall, Mr Bradley Keioskie, Home Hill State School and Osborne State School Principal, Mr Troy Patti 

Year 9 student Sophie Sibson commenced proceedings, leading the assembled guests in the national anthem. School Captains, Cassandra Loizou and Ryan Attard warmly welcomed the assembly and presented the comprehensive Valedictory on behalf on the 2015 seniors. Presidents of the school Student Council Executive, Christina Postma and Ben Walters reported on the many and varied activities of this year’s student council. Home Hill High Principal, Mr Steven Miskin, reminded the school community of numerous achievements which have highlighted 2015. P&C President, Mr Richard Wall then addressed the gathering, reporting on the achievements of the P&C and wishing the year 12 group the very best for their futures.

During the evening, talented year 11 students Andi Gelling and Jacklyn Walters entertained the audience with polished performances. Supper as usual was impressive with Mrs Anne Kerr and her Hospitality students once again delighting everyone with the extensive and tastefully presented selection.

The school has been very impressed with the successful transition of our year 7 students. In their first year at high school from a cohort of 50, 17 students attained academic awards while 16 received teacher awards.

Congratulations to all students who received awards. Your efforts have been appreciated by your teachers. Special thanks to all parents, guardians, family and friends who attended. A thank you is also extended to all the school staff who assisted in any way in the production of the evening. Many hours of work go into the preparation which then ensures the smooth running of the ceremony.

Special Awards & Bursaries

Wilmar Sugar Award (Year 12 Dux):   Christina Postma 

Rotary Club Home Hill Inc Shield (Year 9 Dux):      Tayla McKaig

     (Year 10 Dux):    Nikola Poli

Caltex Best All Rounder: Cassandra Loizou

Dale Cooper Memorial Bursary (Year 10 English): Karli Linton

Burdekin Art Society Inc Award (Year 10 Art): Gabriella Wallace

Australasian Institute of Mining & Metallurgy Bursary (Year 11):                 Mikaylah Wall

Bendigo Bank Accounting Award (Year 12): Daniel Zamperoni

Zonta Girl’s Science Encouragement Award (Year 10): Nikola Poli

McDonald’s Award:(Hospitality)       Brooke Lennox

            (ITU)      Christopher Previtera

Dawson Medal: Christina Postma

TAFE at Schools Award: Christopher Kiehne

JCU Encouragement Awards:        (Year 10): Erin Grimbaldeston

                                    Catania Musumeci          

                (Year 12): Troy Shand

                Jarred Whitman

Senior Cultural Award: Cassandra Loizou

Junior Cultural Award:  Sophie Sibson

Lions Youth of the Year: Christina Postma

Sportsperson of the Year:  Dana Falco

Pierre de Coubertin Award: Cassandra Loizou

ADF Leadership & Teamwork Awards:  (Year 10):   Naomi Loizou

                                                       (Year 12):   Cassandra Loizou

Order of Australia Association Student Citizenship Awards:   Cassandra Loizou

Junior Secondary School Captains:           Rachel Kiehne & Joel Minuzzo

Indigenous School Captain: Bryony Williams

School Captains Awards: Cassandra Loizou & Ryan Attard

Student Council Executive: Christina Postma, Ben Walters,

                                             Sophie Loizou, Nakoma Coutts

Rotary Club of Home Hill Inc Community Service Excellence Award:                      

Cassandra Loizou

Rotary Club of Home Hill Inc Community Service Award:

Ryan Attard, Rachel Marano, Ben Walters, Adam Zabala, Sophie Loizou, Christina Postma

Leadership Awards:

Ryan Attard, Samantha Carrett, Coralie Mannea, Cassandra Loizou, Sophie Loizou, Rachel Marano, Gina Papale, Christina Postma, Christopher Previtera, Michael Rossato, Boyd Spalding, Ben Walters, Samuel Woodlock, Adam Zabala