Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Awards Night

​Principal Frank Kingma with Caltex All-Rounder Mikaylah Wall

For the 53rd Annual Presentation of Awards ceremony held in the Memorial Hall Home Hill on Tuesday 25 October, a large crowd of almost 450 parents, families, staff, students and invited guests from the Home Hill State High School community proudly celebrated the achievements of the student body. Over 170 awards were presented to acknowledge the numerous and extensive accomplishments of students in academic, vocational, cultural, leadership, community service and sporting fields.

The occasion was dignified with presence of invited guests including Mr Dale Last, State member for Burdekin, Mrs Lyn McLaughlin, Burdekin Shire Mayor, Rotary Club of Home Hill President-Elect, Mr Rod Alford, Mr John Donald, Lions Club of Home Hill representative, Mr Steve Postma from Wilmar Sugar Australia, Miss Vanessa Warrington, representing the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy,  Mrs Christine Grimbaldeston, Home Hill Bendigo Bank Manager, Ms Jan Hollingsworth representing the Zonta Club of Burdekin Inc. and Ms Jomi O’Connor representing TAFE North. Also attending were Mrs Lydia Toohey from Toastmasters, Parents & Citizens Association President, Mr Richard Wall, Mr Craig Whittred, Principal Ayr State High School, Mr Bradley Keioskie and student leaders from Home Hill State School.

Year 8 student Flynn McKaig commenced proceedings, leading the assembled guests in the national anthem. School Captains, Andi Gelling and Sam Marano warmly welcomed the assembly and presented the comprehensive Valedictory on behalf on the 2016 seniors. Presidents of the school Student Council Executive, Dana Falco and Tamokai Kupenga reported on the many and varied activities of this year’s student council. Home Hill High Principal, Mr Frank Kingma, reminded the school community of numerous achievements which have highlighted 2016. P&C President, Mr Richard Wall then addressed the gathering, reporting on the achievements of the P&C and wishing the year 12 group the very best for their futures.

During the evening, talented students Sophie Sibson and Emily Cannavan entertained the audience with polished performances. After the ceremony, Mrs Anne Kerr and her Hospitality students once again delighting everyone with an extensive and tastefully presented selection for supper.

Congratulations to all students who received awards. Your efforts have been appreciated by your teachers. Special thanks to all guests, parents, guardians, family and friends who attended. A thank you is also extended to all the school staff who assisted in any way in the production of the evening. Many hours of work go into the preparation which then ensures the smooth running of the ceremony.

Special Awards & Bursaries

Wilmar Sugar Award (Year 12 Dux):                                               Molly Swindley, Mikaylah Wall                
Rotary Club Home Hill Inc Shield            (Year 9 Dux):                   Jenna Attard
Caltex Best All Rounder                                                                  Mikaylah Wall
Dale Cooper Memorial Bursary (Year 10 English):                           Rachel Kiehne
Burdekin Art Society Inc Award (Year 10 Art):                                 Sophie Sibson
Australasian Institute of Mining & Metallurgy Bursary (Year 11):  Nikola Poli
Bendigo Bank Accounting Award (Year 12):                                     Andi Gelling
Zonta Girl’s Science Encouragement Award (Year 10):                    Tayla McKaig
McDonald’s Award:                                       (Hospitality)              Katherine Free
                                                                               (ITS)                     Christopher Kiehne
Dawson Medal                                                                                 Christopher Kiehne
TAFE at Schools Award:                                                                      Emily Bonanno
JCU Encouragement Awards:                    (Year 10):                         Noah Jackson
                                                                                                             Keely Warcon               
Senior Cultural Award                                                                       Tamokai Kupenga
Junior Cultural Award                                                                        Libby D’Alessandro
Lions Youth of the Year                                                                     Sam Marano
Sportsperson of the Year                                                                   Dana Falco
Pierre de Coubertin Award                                                                 Dana Falco
ADF Leadership & Teamwork Awards: (Year 10):                              Aaliyah Calder
                                                                (Year 12):                             Mikaylah Wall
Junior Secondary School Captains:                                                      Libby D’Alessandro &
                                                                                                              Joseph Forno
Indigenous School Captain:                                                                   Bryony Williams
School Captains Awards                                                                      Andi Gelling &
                                                                                                               Sam Marano
Student Council Executive: Dana Falco, Tamokai Kupenga, Mikaylah Wall, Georgia Dahlenburg
Rotary Club of Home Hill Inc Community Service Award:
Georgia Dahlenburg, Dana Falco, Andi Gelling, Sam Marano, Nathan Tsaousis, Mikaylah Wall
Leadership Awards:
Elly Caspanello, Georgia Dahlenburg, Dana Falco, Andi Gelling, Sam Marano, Alana Swindley, Mikaylah Wall