Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Mighty Meal Challenge


On Tuesday 14 March, year 11 and 12 Hospitality students once again hosted the Home Hill Rotary Club in their now famous Mighty Meal Challenge. Students each prepared and served a two course meal for two paying customers under the cost of $17.

Students set up their school dining room as a restaurant and worked from 5.00-9.00pm preparing these meals. For four weeks prior to the event, students researched, practised and costed a number of meals that would be suitable. The real life restaurant situation challenges students as they meet time constraints and individual needs.

During the evening guests were entertained with a speech by year 12 student Elena Postma, who was the Home Hill winner of the recent Lions Youth of the Year.

The evening was an outstanding success and guests were very appreciative of the students’ efforts. Very useful feedback was given to the students about their skills and valuable community connections are made.

Guest judges Mayor Lyn McLaughlin and Councillor John Woods had a difficult time separating the students, however Stephanie Milne was elated to be announced the winner. Stephanie impressed with a very tasty version of Beef & Mushroom Casserole & Potato Mash followed by the dessert Chocolate Banana Bread & Butter Pudding.

The runners-up could not be separated, so both Bradley McConville with his Sweet Chilli Chicken, and Rice Caramel Fondant and Josh Hyde with Cheesy Crumbed Chicken & Couscous, Shredded Rocket and Pine Nuts, and Mar Bar Cake with Berries & Custard, were awarded second place.

Once again we must thank the Rotary Club for continuing to support this stimulating and rewarding activity as it allows students to develop skills and confidence. Thanks also to judges Mayor McLaughlin and Councillor Woods for taking on the difficult job of finding a winner on the night.

Students gained a lot of confidence and worthwhile workplace experience and have made valuable memories.

Congratulation to the following students:

Year 11 – Stephanie Milne

Year 12 – Lakisha Barba, Emily Bonanno, Zoe Brierley, Clay Brush, Eilish Farris, Ashlea Gaia, Darcy Gray, Shari Hankin, Joshua Hyde, Bradley McConville.