Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Sports Awards

​Mrs Brenda McDowell with Kate Neal, the Don McDowell Memorial Sportsperson of the Year

 On Tuesday 22 October, over 50 Sports Awards were presented to acknowledge and celebrate students at Home Hill State High School for their commitment, participation and success in sport over the past year. 

We were extremely fortunate to have ex-Cowboys player, Aaron Payne as our Guest Speaker this year.  Aaron spoke about the highlights of his rugby league career as well as the challenges and setbacks he has endured.  It was fantastic to see such an accomplished local sportsperson volunteer his time to attend our awards ceremony. 

The major awards for the evening were as follows:

Lloyd Mann Memorial Athletes of the Year : Kimberley Bourke and Laurance Papale

Carol Coutts Memorial House Spirit Trophy: Upstart

Pierre De Coubertin Award : Mark Barbagallo

Vince Toohey Memorial Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Christopher Previtera

John Cook Memorial Senior Sportsperson of the Year: Kate Neal

Don McDowall Memorial Sportsperson of the Year: Kate Neal

Well done to all students who received awards on the night and thank you for your efforts in sport this year.